Main participants


The people directly involved in MuSiCC activities are all working in the « Laboratoire d’Océanographie et du Climat : Experimentations & Approches Numériques »  in Paris (LOCEAN), more specifically in the team Biogeochemistry – Tracers – Paleoclimate (BTP)

  • Damien CARDINAL, is the coordinator and scientist in charge of MuSiCC. He is Professor at Universite Pierre & Marie Curie (UPMC).DSC_5484Ivia IMG_9239
  • Ivia CLOSSET was a UPMC Ph. D. student between 2011 and 2015. She was working on the Axis 1 of MuSiCC. She defended her thesis on 7th April 2015.
  • K.R. MANGALAA is a UPMC Ph. D. student  2013 – 2016. She was working on Axis


    2 of MuSiCC, more specifically on silicon cycle in Indian estuaries. She defended her Ph. D. thesis on 16 December 2016.

  • Mustapha BENRAHMOUNE is a Technician chemist from CNRS  who is working in BTP since December 2013. He is in charge of the


    management of the clean lab, sample preparation and analyses of silicon concentrations.

  • IRDMarie-France

    Marie-France MASSAMBA is from IRD . She was in charge of all the financial and administrative management of MuSiCC at


We trained several under- and post-graduate students in the framework of MuSiCC:

  • Camille Ibrahim (Licence 3 Physique fondamentale, July 2012)
  • Maxime Taureau (Licence 3 Sciences de la Terre, April 2013)IMG_2678 stagiaires 3ème
  • Khedidja Ameur (Master 1 en Océanographie et Environnements Marins, April-June 2013)
  • Fanny Argiro (Licence 3 Sciences de la Terre, April 2015)
  • Sandrine Mengue-Ela (Master 1 en Environnement Continentaux et Hydrosciences, May – July 2015)
  • Louis Girard (Master 1 en Océanographie et Environnements Marins, April-June 2015)
  • Martial Morin (Licence 2 Chimie, 4 semaines, July 2015)
  • Shang-Yao Guo (Master 1 en Environnement Continentaux et Hydrosciences, March – July 2016)
  • Around 5 secondary school students every year (one week)


To achieve the objectives of MuSiCC we are collaborating with many other colleagues in France, Europe, Australia and India. Below is a non-exhaustive list of our main collaborators by  affiliations.


  • Sandrine Caquineau, Irina Djouraev & Florence Le Cornec at LOCEAN (Bondy)
  • François Thil & Arnaud Dapoigny at Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’Environnement (LSCE, Gif-sur-Yvette)
  • Karine Leblanc, Stéphanie Jacquet, Marine Lasbleiz & Bernard Quéguiner at Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography (MIO, Marseilles)
  • Stéphane Blain at Laboratoire d’Océanographie Microbienne (LOMIC, Banyuls-sur-Mer)
  • Frédéric Planchon at Laboratoire des sciences de l’Environnement Marin (LEMAR, Brest)


  • Frank Dehairs, Marc Elskens, François Fripiat, Anne-Julie Cavagna at Dept. of Analytical, Environmental and Geochemistry (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
  • Luc André, Laurence Monin & Camille Delvigne at Africamuseum (Tervuren, Belgium)
  • Nadine Mattielli & Virginia Panizzo at Dept. of Earth and Environmental Sciences (DSTE, Université Libre de Bruxelles)


  • Tom Trull at Antarctic Climate and Ecosystem Cooperative Research Centre (ACE-CRC, University of Tasmania, Hobart)
  • Leanne Armand & Andrès Rigual-Hernández at Marine Science Dept. (MacQuarie University, Sidney)


  • Prof. N.S.S. Sarma at Department of Physical, Nuclear Chemistry & Chemical Oceanography (PNCO, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam)
  • Jean Riotte at Indo-French Cell for Water Sciences (CEFIRSE-IFCWS, Bangalore)

    Andhra University







    ACE CRC logo